ArminHornung.de

The private homepage of Armin Hornung

Flag German English

"jAwards" - awarding users in Joomla!

To encourage users in my web-community The Round Table of Bretonnia to participate in various activity, I wrote a little Component for the CMS Joomla, along with a Plugin for the Community Builder component to handle awards or achievements.

With jAwards you can create custom medals for your community and hand them out to deserving members, e.g. for participating in contests, or submitting articles. The frontend shows an overview about the available awards, and who earned which one. Internationalization for Frontend and Backend is available in English, German and French at the moment. More user-contributed translations are welcome!

Everything is hosted at the official Joomla Developer site, JoomlaCode. Just follow the links below, problems and wishes can be posted there too.

More information, a Readme and Changelog are in the Documents Section.

Download

The component and the Community Builder plugin can both be downloaded at Joomlacode. You will also find a medal starter pack with some images available there.

The Component

Install the downloaded zip file for the component in the Joomla-Backend as usual. It might work for Mambo too, though being developed for Joomla 1.04 (and newer). I have tested the component as good as possible, but I guarantee for nothing - use it at your own risk ;). An update to a newer version is possible by deinstalling the component and installing the newer version (Backup your files and database just in case!). More information is in the Readme at Joomlacode.

One word about terminology: Medals are what you have to create first (consisting of an image and description). When you hand it out to a user, it's an Award (consisting of Medal, User and a date).

Community Builder Integration

With the corresponding plugin, the medals each user has earned can be displayed in an Awards-Tab in the user's profile. Install and configure like any other Community Builder plugin.

Joomlaboard / Fireboard Integration

Inspired by the medals-mod for phpBB, I am also showing two random medals of the users below their avatar in forum posts in Joomlaboard. The same is possible in its successor, Fireboard. Documents with the needed code and more instructions are available in the Documents section at the Forge.

Feedback

Any kind of feedback in the form of suggestions, feature requests or bug reports is appreciated. Just contact me personally, write in the Forum at Joomlacode, or submit a Bug Tracker there.

Miscellaneous

jAwards is released as Open Source under the license GNU GPL. If you like the component, I really appreciate any small donation:

Last modified: 2014-04-22

ArminHornung.de

Die private Homepage von Armin Hornung

Flag German English

"jAwards" - Nutzer in Joomla auszeichnen!

In meiner Web-Community The Round Table of Bretonnia werden Nutzer mit Auszeichnungen dazu ermuntert, bei verschiedenen Aktivitäten teilzunehmen. Dazu habe ich eine kleine Komponente für das CMS Joomla, mitsamt einem Plugin für Community Builder geschrieben.

Mit jAwards kannst du in deiner Community Medaillen erstellen und Nutzer damit auszeichnen, zum Beispiel für die Teilnahme an Wettbewerben oder für das Schreiben von Artikeln. Das Frontend zeigt alle Medaillen in der Übersicht, und wer welche erhalten hat. Internationale Übersetzungen für das Front- und Backend sind aktuell in deutsch, englisch und französisch erhältlich. Weitere Übersetzungen sind jederzeit willkommen!

Alles ist auf der offiziellen Joomla-Entwickler-Seite JoomlaCode verfügbar. Einfach den Links unten folgen, Probleme und Wünsche können dort auch hinterlassen werden.

Weiter Informationen, Readme und Changelog gibt es in der Documents-Section auf Joomlacode.

Download

Die Komponente und das Community Builder plugin können von Joomlacode herunter geladen werden. Dort gibt es auch ein Zip-Paket mit einigen Bildern für Medaillen.

Die Komponente

Das Zip-Paket der Komponente wie üblich im Joomla-Backend installieren. In Mambo könnte jAwards auch funktionieren (ungetestet, entwickelt für Joomla 1.04 oder neuer). Ich habe die Komponente so gut es geht getestet, aber garantiere für nichts - auf eigene Garantie verwenden ;). Ein Update auf eine neuere Version ist möglich, indem die Komponente deinstalliert, und die neue Version installiert wird (Für alle Fälle die Datenbank und Dateien sichern!). Weitere Informationen gibt es im Readme auf Joomlacode.

Kurz etwas zur Terminologie: Medaillen müssen zunächst erstellt werden (bestehend aus einem Bild und einer Beschreibung). Wenn diese an einen Nutzer verliehen wird, so ist es eine Auszeichnung (bestehend aus einer Medaille, einem Nutzer und einem Datum).

Community Builder Integration

Mit dem passenden Plugin können die Medaillen die ein Nutzer bekommen hat im Awards-Tab in seinem Profil angezeigt werden. Das Plugin wie jedes andere Community Builder Plugin installieren und konfigurieren.

Joomlaboard / Fireboard Integration

Inspiriert vom medals-mod für phpBB, zeige ich auch zwei zufällige Medaillen eines Users unter seinem Avatar im Joomlaboard-Forum. Das selbe ist auch im Nachfolger Fireboard möglich. Dokumente mit dem entsprechenden Code gibt es in der Documents-Section bei Joomlacode.

Feedback

Jede Art von Feedback, sei es in der Form von Vorschlägen, Wünschen nach neuer Funktionalität oder Bug Reports, ist willkommen. Kontaktiere mich einfach direkt, schreib im Joomlacode-Forum, oder erstelle dort einen Bug-Tracker.

Verschiedenes

jAwards ist als "Open Source" unter der Lizenz GNU GPL veröffentlicht. Wenn dir die Komponente gefällt, dann freue ich mich über jede kleine Spende:

Zuletzt geändert: 2014-04-22